Chamara Kapugedera and Malinga returns for Champions trophy

Written by Rohit Pawar

Hard hitting middle order batsman Chamara Kapugedera returned into Sri Lanka ODI squad for the Champions trophy, as well as the fast bowler Lasith Malinga, Sri Lanka cricket board announced today, while naming the 15 men squad for the tournament.

Angelo Mathews, who didn’t play for Sri Lanka in t20 series in Australia and home series against Bangladesh, after sustained an injury during South Africa tour, is back and will lead the team.

Upul Tharanga, who captained the team in the shorter formats in the absence of Angelo Mathews, Will be the vice captain.

Kapugedera had been considered only as a t20 player recently last played an ODI  in January 2016, but has been in blistering form in ongoing Super Provincial Tournament, hitting two whirlwind centuries. Same with the Lasith Malinga, who last played an ODI in November 2015, but was in his devastating best in t20 matches against Australia and Bangladesh, recently, picked his first t20 hat trick as well. Selectors also preferred Kusal Perera as another opener for the tournament, instead of Danushka Gunathilika, who played as a opener against Bangladesh.

Interestingly, selectors opted for only one specialist spinner in Lakshan Sandkan, while allrounder Seekuge Prasanna will provide another spinning option.

Sri Lanka Squad : Niroshan Dickwela,Upul Tharanga, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Angelo Mathews , Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandkan, Seekuge Prasanna, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep

About the author

Rohit Pawar

An Independent I.T. Security Expert, Geek, Blogger & Passionate Programmer.

Leave a Comment