Off The Field

Shane Warne Slams Australian Selectors After ODI Team Announcement

Written by Abhishek Patil

A fuming Shane Warne slammed the Australian selectors after the One-day International (ODI) squad for the upcoming three-match series against India was announced on Friday. The selectors axed five players — Travis Head, Chris Lynn, D’Arcy Short, Ben McDermott and all-rounder Ashton Agar — on basis of current form. Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins were rested for the limited-over series while Nathan Lyon, Usman Khawaja and veteran Peter Siddle were brought back into the ODI setup.

Blasting at the selection decisions, the Australian spin legend on Twitter wrote, “These ridiculous selections must stop in all forms of Australian cricket – end of !”

The Australian selectors named off-spinner Lyon in the squad, who will be returning to the limited overs format after a gap of over six months.

Usman Khawaja, who last featured in an ODI way back in January 2017 against Pakistan, was also recalled for the series.

Medium pacer Peter Siddle (34) – last featured in an ODI in November 2010 — was also included in the squad.

The three-match ODI series between India and Australia is scheduled to commence from January 12 in Sydney.


About the author

Abhishek Patil