Off The Field

Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali receive top PCB awards

Written by Vishwas Gupta

Mohammad Abbas and Hasan Ali won the top honours at the annual Pakistan Cricket Board awards held on Wednesday, 8 August, for their performances with the ball through 2017-18.

Abbas, who made his debut in April 2017, was declared the best Test player for his 27 wickets in the stipulated period, including a match-winning eight wickets at Lord’s this summer.

Ali, the who is ranked No. 3 in the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Rankings for Bowlers, won the prize in the one-day international format, where he scalped 33 wickets.

Babar Azam was the best T20 player of the year, while all-rounder Faheem Ashraf, who made a crucial 83 on Test debut against Ireland this year, won the best emerging player award.

Fakhar Zaman’s exploits with the bat in the 50-over format didn’t go unnoticed as he was presented with a ‘special award for outstanding performance’. He had not only become the fastest to 1000 runs in ODIs but also the first Pakistani ODI double-centurion.

As for the women, Sana Mir, No.5 on the MRF Tyres ICC bowling and all-rounder rankings, was named best ODI player of the year. Javeria Khan won that honour in T20Is after her productive series in Sri Lanka, before performing consistently in the Asia Cup 2018 as well.

Selected list of winners for 2017-18:

Best Test player of the year: Mohammad Abbas
Best ODI player of the year (men): Hasan Ali
Best ODI player (women): Sana Mir
Best T20 player of the year (men): Babar Azam
Best T20 player (women): Javeria Khan
Best emerging player (men): Faheem Ashraf
Best batsman domestic (men): Shan Masood
Best batter domestic (women): Javeria Khan
Best bowler domestic (men): Aizaz Cheema
Best bowler domestic (women): Diana Baig
Best wicket-keeper domestic (men): Kamran Akmal
Best wicket-keeper (women): Sidra Nawaz

About the author

Vishwas Gupta

Leave a Comment