Sunrisers Hyderabad score lowest-ever total in IPL final history, post 113 against Kolkata Knight Riders

Written by Sumit Seth

Sunrisers Hyderabad had the dubious record of becoming the team to score the lowest-ever total in an Indian Premier League final when they posted 113 against the Kolkata Knight Riders at Chepauk on Sunday.

With that, SRH leaped over the 123/9 which Chennai Super Kings had posted against Mumbai Indians in the 2013 final.

The KKR pacers proved to be too much for the SRH top order, who were reduced to 47/4 after seven overs. Mitchell Starc started off the proceedings by removing Abhishek Sharma in the first over for just 2 with a ripper of a delivery.

Meanwhile, Vaibhav Arora got the better of Travis Head in the next over as the Australian nicked behind Gurbaz for a duck. Starc would strike again to remove Rahul Tripathi for 9 while Harshit Rana struck in his first over to snap Nitish Kumar Reddy for 13.

Aiden Markram and Heinrich Klaasen tried to build a partnership but the former was sent back by Starc for 20 while Shahbaz Ahmed couldn’t last long as well scoring just 8 before falling to Varun Chakaravarthy.

With wickets falling at regular intervals, Abdul Samad was brought in as Impact sub by SRH but Andre Russell sent him back for 4. Klaasen would be the next man to depart as he played a Harshit Rana delivery on to his stumps.

Earlier, Sunrisers Hyderabad captain Pat Cummins won the toss and elected to bat first against Kolkata Knight Riders.

About the author

Sumit Seth