No Rohit, Virat for White-ball Series vs SA, Rahul to Lead in ODIs

Written by Sumit Seth

India will play the white ball leg of the South Africa tour without Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli with the duo requesting BCCI for a break. KL Rahul will lead in the ODIs with Sanju Samson and Rajat Patidar returning to the squad for the 50-over format.

Tamil Nadu’s Sai Sudarshan finds a place in the ODI squad on the back of good domestic and IPL seasons, while Ishan Kishan part of the Test and the T20I teams, missed out on ODI selection.

Rohit Sharma was named to lead the Indian side scheduled to take on South Africa in the two-match Test series beginning on the 26th of December.

KL Rahul was named the captain of the Indian unit set to play three ODIs against the Proteas, set to get underway on the 17th of December, after the conclusion of the T20I series.Suryakumar Yadav, who is captaining the Indian team in the ongoing five-match T20I series against Australia, will continue in the role in the shortest format during the three-match series against South Africa beginning on December 10 in Durban.

The BCCI selection committee, which met on Thursday, also decided to make pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah as Rohit Sharma’s deputy in the two-Test series beginning on December 26 in Centurion.

Rahul will keep wickets in the Test series.Both Rohit and Virat Kohli requested the Indian cricket board for a break from the white-ball leg of the tour.

B Sai Sudharshan and Rinku Singh have received maiden call-ups in the Indian ODI squad.The selection committee meeting was held in the presence of head coach Rahul Dravid.

The three-match T20I series will begin on December 10, which will be followed by three ODIs starting December 17 in Johannesburg.

India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

About the author

Sumit Seth