Inside Story

Iddamalgoda replaces Abeysinghe as Ragama President

Written by Rohit Pawar

Roshan Iddamalgoda last week replaced Roshan Abeysinghe as Ragama Cricket Club (RCC) President, Cricket Age reliably learns.

Iddamalgoda was elected President for the next two years, during Club’s 32nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on the 3rd June at RCC club House.

“Mr. Roshan Abeysinghe was not defeated, Instead he himself handed over the President’s post to his colleague Iddamalgoda after 30 long years. As per the constitution, Mr. Abeysinghe will be remained with the club as Immediate Past President” a club Insider told Cricket Age.

At the AGM, Kirthi Gunaratne and Daminda Mulgama were elected as Vice Presidents, while Nimantha Hettiarachchi and Mirloy Manuel as Secretary and Treasurer respectively.

A self-proclaimed commentator, media person, columnist, Abeysinghe has remained as one of the most influential persons in Sri Lanka Cricket for over two decades now.

For some, he is the main force behind Ragama CC consistent performance in the Sri Lanka domestic cricket. Under his wings, Ragama CC not only became one of the top domestic club in Sri Lanka Cricket, but also produced International cricketers like Lahiru Thirimanne, Roshen Silva, Amila Aponso and Janith Liyange.

For others, he is someone who used Ragama CC for his own benefits, rather than for cricket! Allegations are that the RCC has had two votes at Sri Lanka Cricket elections, but while Abeysinghe always secured commentary assignments, club could never get a ground of it’s own!

“He was there for three decades, but the club still doesn’t have the ground and practice wickets even. It itself shows where his priorities were” a Cricket Expert in Sri Lanka told Cricket Age.

About the author

Rohit Pawar

An Independent I.T. Security Expert, Geek, Blogger & Passionate Programmer.