Kusal Perera to lead Sri Lanka against Bangladesh

Written by Rohit Pawar

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Wednesday announced an 18-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Bangladesh. In a release, the SLC stated that the team led by Kusal Perera will depart for Bangladesh on May 16. Kusal Mendis has been named as the vice-captain of the side for the for the three-match ODI series.

Perera, who has featured in 101 ODIs takes over the captaincy mantle from Dimuth Karunaratne. He is the 9th Sri Lankan skipper in the last 5 years and is all set to lead the national team for the first time in his career. He did captain the Kandy Tuskers in the inaugural Lanka Premier League last year in which they finished last.

Kusal Mendis meanwhile, is going to return to the ODI team after more than a year and straightaway has been given the responsibility of vice-captaining the side.

Former Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Mathews was dropped along with Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne and wicket-keeper Dinesh Chandimal.

The three-match series which is a part of the ODI Super League will be played on May 23, 25, and 28, within a bio-bubble. Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka will host all the three matches.

Sri Lanka won the recently concluded two-match Test series against Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Kusal Perera (C), Kusal Mendis (VC), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando.

About the author

Rohit Pawar

An Independent I.T. Security Expert, Geek, Blogger & Passionate Programmer.