Fakhar Zaman blames himself for his run-out: Was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf

Written by Sumit Seth

Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman blamed himself for his controversial run-out against South Africa in the second ODI, saying it was “his own fault” for not looking at the fielder. Zaman’s scintillating 193-run-knock ended in a bizarre fashion when he was undone by a direct hit from deep by Aiden Markram in the first ball of the final over.

Zaman was comfortably positioned to complete the second run but he mistook the throw to be going to the other end before seeing the stumps disturbed by the direct hit. Questions are being asked of Quinton de Kock’s deliberate attempt to distract Fakhar Zaman but the Pakistan opener thinks it was not ‘Quinton’s fault’.

“The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he’d started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault,” Fakhar Zaman said.

Notably, replays showed that South Africa wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock tricked Fakhar Zaman into believing that the throw was going to the non-striker’s end. While Zaman was still in the process of completing the second run, de Kock raised his hand and signaled towards the non-striker’s end.

Following is a section of the MCC Fair and Unfair Play Rule.

“41.5 Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of a batsman”

41.5: it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.

Zaman fell 7 runs short of his 2nd ODI double hundred as Pakistan failed to gun down a 342-run target in Johannesburg despite the valiant effort from their opener.

About the author

Sumit Seth