15 member Sri Lanka Legends team named for Road Safety World Series 2021

Written by N Krishnamurthy

Sri Lanka Legends, on Saturday (February 27), announced their squad for the upcoming Road Safety World Series 2021. The much-awaited tournament will be played in Raipur from March 2 to 21. The Sri Lanka Legends will play the it’s first game against West Indies Legends in Raipur, India on 6th.

The first edition of the series was called off after four games on March 11 last year due to Covid-19 pandemic.

The venue for the second edition of Road Safety World Series is the newly-built Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur, whose seating capacity is 65,000. However, tickets for only 50 per cent of the seats will be up for grabs owing to Covid-19 pandemic.

Former Sri Lankan captain Tillakaratne Dilshan will lead the Sri Lanka Legends squad. Dilshan will bat alongside legendary Sanath Jayasuriya. All-rounders including Farveez Maharoof and Chamara Kapugedara will represent the Lankan legends, while Upul Tharanga and Dhammika Prasad are the new addition in the side.

Australia Legends has pulled out of T20 Series due to of the team’s inability to travel due to strict Covid-19 restrictions Down Under. England and Bangladesh Legends are the two new teams in the Road Safety World Series T20.

Bangladesh Legends have been included as a replacement to the Australian Legends. England Legends have been included as the sixth team in the event.

Teams in Road Safety World Series 2021

  • India Legends
  • Sri Lanka Legends
  • West Indies Legends
  • South Africa Legends
  • Bangladesh Legends
  • England Legends

Sri Lanka Legends:

  1. Sanath Jayasuriya
  2. Tillakratne Dilshan (C)
  3. Upul Tharanga (wk)
  4. Chamara Silva
  5. Chamara Kapugedera
  6. Russel Arnold
  7. Thilan Thushara
  8. Farveez Maharoof
  9. Dhammika Prasad
  10. Nuwan Kulasekara
  11. Rangana Herath
  12. Chinthaka Jayasinghe
  13. Dulanjana Wijesinghe
  14. Ajantha Mendis
  15. Malinda Warnapura

About the author

N Krishnamurthy