Vijay Hazare Trophy to begin on February 20; Bengaluru, Kolkata among venues

Written by Abhishek Patil

After successfully executing the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, BCCI is now all set to organise Vijay Hazare Trophy, the domestic one-day tournament from February 20. The final will be held on March 14, two days after the semi-finals.

Six venues have been selected for the matches and the teams have been asked to report to their respective venues on February 13.

“The BCCI will be organising the Vijay Hazare Trophy from February 20 to March 14 across six cities, with the teams entering the bio-secure bubble from February 13 in order to undergo three COVID tests. BCCI secretary Jay Shah on Saturday released the schedule with Surat, Indore, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Jaipur being five of the six venues. Eight Plate Group teams will be playing their matches at various grounds across Tamil Nadu. As per the BCCI protocol, the players will undergo three RT-PCR tests in their respective bio-bubble and three more on arrival, before the start of the knock-out stages (pre quarter-finals) from March 7,” new agency PTI reported on Saturday.

Elite A (Surat): Gujarat, Chhattisgarh, Tripura, Hyderabad, Baroda and Goa

Elite B (Indore): Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Jharkhand, MP, Vidarbha and AP

Elite C (Bangalore): Karnataka, UP, Kerala, Odisha, Railways and Bihar

Elite D (Jaipur): Delhi, Mumbai, Maharashtra, HP, Rajasthan and Pondicherry

Elite E (Kolkata): Bengal, Services, J&K, Saurastra, Haryana and Chadigarh

Plate (Tamil Nadu, city TBC): Uttarakhand, Nagaland, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Sikkim

About the author

Abhishek Patil