Gamini Wickramasinghe, Ranjan Paranavithana, Nilantha Rathnayake, Gajaba Pitigala Appointed as Sri Lanka’s Provincial Selectors

Written by Sumit Seth

Stalwarts of Sri Lanka junior cricket circuit Gamini Wickramasinghe, Ranjan Paranavithana and Nilantha Rathnayake have been Appointed as Sri Lanka’s Provincial Selectors for the next one year, Cricket Age exclusively learns. Gajaba Pitigala, A. S. Nishanthan, K. H. Nandsena, Viraj Chaminda De Silva and Shane Fernando are other inclusions in the 8-member committee.

“Following the ExCo approval, a committee has been appointed as Provincial Selectors for one year. The committee members will be looking after the junior cricket in their respective provinces and will provide the recommendations to the national committee for the junior squad selections” a top SLC official told Cricket Age.

Gamini Wickramasinghe, a former wicket keeper batsmen, played 3 test and 4 ODI’s for Sri Lanka. He has served both national and U19 Team’s as selector and posses inside knowledge of domestic cricket.

Ranjan Paranavithana, a legend in Sri Lanka domestic cricket, has long been playing a definitive role in unearthing young talent from the Island, with his sheer dedication and determination, along with Ranjith Madurasinghe. Unfortunately, due to the lack of proper strategy from then incompetent U19 Support staff, consisting head coach Hashan Tillakaratne and Manager Farveez Maharoof – Sri Lanka U19 team had crashed out from the group stage of the 2020 World Cup in South Africa. However, Paranavithana’s contribution gives a hope for the future, particularly with another term.

Nilantha Ratnayake, a former fast bowler from the prestigious Sinhalese Sports Club, played 2 ODI’s for Sri Lanka in late 80s. He was involved in cricket management at a well known school in Kandy and has good knowledge and experience in junior cricket. In his present tenure under the supervision of Madurusinghe, he has done a commanding job.

Shane Fernando, a stalwart of prestigious Colts Cricket Club, has served Sri Lanka cricket as U19 team manager in the past and is well respected for his cricketing expertise.

Pitigala, from the Galle CC, has also served as junior selector in the past and is an useful inclusion in the committee.

Earlier, in December last year, The SLC had announced the senior selection committee, headed by Asantha De Mel.

 National Selection Committee

Asantha De Mel – Chairman

Chaminda Mendis

Pramodya Wickramasinghe

A.W.R. Madurasinghe

Nilmini Gunarathne

Hemantha Devapriya

H.U. Karnain

 Provincial Selectors 

Ranjan Paranavitharana

Gajaba Pitigala

S. Nishanthan

H. Nandasena

Gamini Wickramasinghe

Shane Fernando

Viraj Chaminda de Silvua

Nilantha Rathnayake


About the author

Sumit Seth