Dhoni-Reiffel wide-ball controversy: What IPL rulebook says

Written by Abhishek Patil

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) produced a huge controversy as MS Dhoni seemed to have ‘bullied’ on-field umpire Paul Reiffel into changing his decision regarding a wide ball. Reiffel seemed to have spread his hands to signal for wide before an angry reaction from Dhoni saw him retract his decision.

Since the incident took place, fans and experts have expressed their take on the matter on social media, with many even deciding to hit out at Dhoni for his actions. Some have even questioned the rules regarding the change in umpiring decisions on the field.

While the general rule says once a decision has been taken, it remains final, here’s what the ICC rule book says on the subject:

Section 2.12 of the IPL match playing condition reads: “Umpire’s decision: An umpire may alter any decision provided that such alteration is made promptly. This apart, an umpire’s decision, once made, is final.”

In the case involving umpire Reiffel, the Australian did seem to have signalled wide but took a u-turn on his decision immediately which falls within the rules of the game.


About the author

Abhishek Patil