Inside Story

Maharoof discarded, Kaluwitharana, Kuruppu’s Names Discussed for Sri Lanka National Selector Role

Written by N Krishnamurthy

Former all-rounder Farveez Maharoof name was rejected by the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) for the national selector role during Yesterday’s Management Committee (MC) meeting, Cricket Age reliably learns. Instead, World Cup winning former swashbuckling opener Romesh Kaluwitharana, Brendon Kuruppu and Hemantha Wickramaratne names were discussed as likely addition in the existing three members national selection committee, headed by Asantha De Mel.

Apart from Asantha, the present selection committee, which one year contract was expired on August 15 but was told by the SLC to carry on it’s responsibility until new appointment, consist of Chaminda Mendis and Vinothen John.

Cricket Age had published on August 14 that Maharoof, Who is presently a junior selector as well, is lobbying hard to promote himself to the national level. According to sources, a former Sri Lanka player, who himself was kicked out from the national coaching setup by the SLC following disastrous results during his tenure, was promoting Maharoof. However, when his name was discussed during yesterday’s MC meeting, it was unanimously discarded.

“Majority of  MC members rejected his (Maharoof) name, citing his lack of the experience at senior level” a top SLC official told Cricket Age.

Maharoof, Who played 22 tests, 109 ODI’s and 8 T20Is for his country, last appeared during Sri Lanka’s limited-overs tour to England and Ireland in 2016.

“He has also played cricket with many of our current players, both at international and domestic level. That was another reason, we rejected his name” the top official added.

The existing selection committee  members – Asantha De Mel, Chaminda Mendis and Vinothen John – will most likely be retained, while SLC plans to add one more selector. Accordingly, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Brendon Kuruppu and Hemanta Wickramaratne’s names were discussed.

“By the next week, we will finalize the names and will send the list to National Selection Committee and Sports Ministry for approval” the top official added further.

All three (Kaluwitharana, Kuruppu and Wickramaratne) have served Sri Lanka cricket as selectors in past as well and offers plenty of experience of the domestic cricket.

Kaluwitharana, Who changed the ODI cricket forever through his attacking batting in 1996 World Cup along with legendary Sanath Jayasuriya, in particular, is considered a no-nonsense selector!


About the author

N Krishnamurthy