Rohit Sharma Named ICC’s “2019 ODI Cricketer Of The Year”, Virat Kohli Wins “Spirit of Cricket” Award

Written by Abhishek Patil

Rohit Sharma, who top-scored in the One-Day International (ODI) format in 2019, was adjudged ODI cricketer of the year by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday. Rohit Sharma scored a total of seven centuries last year, out of which five came in the World Cup 2019. India captain Virat Kohli bagged the spirit of cricket award for his gesture to the crowd against a league stage fixture against Australia in the marquee tournament. In the match against Australia, Virat Kohli gestured towards the crowd to cheer for former Australia captain Steve Smith.

Australia’s Marnus Labuschagne, who had a dream season in Test cricket, was named men’s emerging cricketer of the year. Marnus Labuschagne scored 1104 runs in 11 matches for his country.

Ben Stokes, who played a key role in England’s World Cup 2019 triumph, won Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the world player of the year.

Pat Cummins, with 59 wickets in Test cricket last season, was named Test cricketer of the year by the ICC.

India’s Deepak Chahar got the T20I performance of the year award for his magical figures of six for seven against Bangladesh including a hat-trick.


About the author

Abhishek Patil