Virat Kohli goes past Ganguly, Azharuddin, achieves 2 more Test records

Written by Vishwas Gupta

India thrashed South Africa by an innings and 137 runs in Pune on Sunday to seal the three-match series 2-0. India had won the series-opener in Visakhapatnam by 203 runs. Following on, South Africa were all out for 189 in their second innings in the final session of day four. India scored a mammoth 601 for five in their first innings with skipper Virat Kohli leading the side with a majestic double hundred. Opener Dean Elgar (48) was the top-scorer for the visitors while pacer Umesh Yadav (3/22) and left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja (3/52) took three wickets apiece for India.

With this win, India captain Virat Kohli made his way into the record books.

This was Virat Kohli’s 9th straight home series win as India captain which extended India’s winning run at home to 11 – a world record, bettering Australia’s 10 straight home series wins which they achieved twice under Mark Taylor and Ricky Ponting’s captaincies.

This was India’s 8th Test win by an innings under Virat Kohli’s captaincy. Kohli beat Sourav Ganguly and Mohammad Azharuddin, who had 7 test wins by an innings. The record for most Test wins by an innings still stands with MS Dhoni, who has 8 to his credit.


About the author

Vishwas Gupta