G Periyaswamy, ‘India’s Lasith Malinga’, takes fifer in TNPL final

Written by Vishwas Gupta

Chepauk Super Gillies became the champions of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) after they beat Dindigul Dragons in the final in Chennai on Thursday by 12 runs. The hero of the final without a doubt was their pace bowler G Periyaswamy, who finished with figures of 5/15.

Periyaswamy, who previously shot to limelight because of how uncannily similar his bowling action is to Sri Lanka great Lasith Malinga, was thrown the ball in the last over, with Dindigul Dragons requiring 15 runs to win.

Three wickets fell in the over, as the Dindigul batsmen failed to deal with Periyaswamy’s slingy yorkers and only two runs came off the over. Periyaswamy had done brilliantly in his previous over as well, conceding only six runs at a stage when Dindigul needed 29 runs to win off 18 balls.

Batting first, the Chepauk team had put up 126/8 in 20 overs. This eventually turned out to be enough, as the Dindigul Dragons, in Ravichandran Ashwin’s absence, could only manage a score of 114/9 in their 20 overs.


About the author

Vishwas Gupta