Sri Lanka Included Malinga, recalled Milinda Siriwardena, Jeevan Mendis for World Cup

Written by Vipin Darwade

Sri Lanka have recalled allrounders Jeevan Mendis and Milinda Siriwardena for the World Cup, Cricket Age reliably learns. Bowling spearhead Lasith Malinga, Who was removed as captain on Wednesday, has also been included in the squad. Lahiru Thirimane, Avishka Fernando are few other notable inclusions in the 15-members preliminary squad.

Niroshan Dikwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunatilake, Upul Tharanga and Akila Dananjaya are amongst the most notable absentees from the squad.

As selectors have dropped regular wicket keeper Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera is the most likely to keep wickets for Sri Lanka. The swashbuckling left-hander has been in fine form in last two years, but had to return from South Africa series midway through due to hamstring injury. He is likely to bat at number three as young Avishka Fernando is expected to open the innings along with skipper Dimuth Karunaratne.

Sri Lanka have rightly opted for the more experienced Jeevan Mendis, Who is more than an useful batsman and has been included mainly because of his leg spin. The inclusion of Milinda Siriwardena is based on his performance in the recently concluded domestic tournament.

Batsmen Oshada Fernando and Angelo Perera, allrounder Wanindu Hasaranga and fast bowler Kasun Rajitha have been put as stand by.

Nuwan Pradeep and Suranga Lakmal will form the core of bowling along with Malinga, while fast bowling allrounders Thisara Perera and Isuru Udana are expected to provide much needed balance to the team.

The Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) are scheduled to announce the squad at 2 PM today.

Sri Lanka will leave on May 7 to England for a one week camp before heading to Scotland to play two ODIs. Sri Lanka’s opening World Cup match is against New Zealand on June 1, 2019.

Sri Lanka’s World Cup fixtures

1 June: Vs New Zealand at Cardiff
4 June: Vs Afghanistan at Cardiff
7 June: Vs Pakistan at Bristol
11 June: Vs Bangladesh at Bristol
15 June: Vs Australia at The Oval
21 June: Vs England at Leeds
28 June: Vs South Africa at Chester-Le-Street
1 July: Vs West Indies at Chester-Le-Street
6 July – India – Leeds


Dimuth Karunaratne (Capt.)
Avishka Fernando
Lahiru Thirimane
Kusal Perera
Kusal Mendis
Angelo Mathews
Dananjaya De
Jeffrey Vandersay
Thisara Perera
Isuru Udana
Suranga Lakmal
Nuwan Pradeep
Lasith Malinga
Jeevan Mendis
Milinda Siriwardena

Stand By

Oshada Fernando
Angelo Perera
Kasun Rajitha
Wanindu Hasaranga

About the author

Vipin Darwade