Dharmadasa Side Secure 92 Votes As Mohan De Silva Loses SSC In Final Hours

Written by Abhishek Patil

As just few hours have left for the much awaited Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) election, Jayantha Dharmadasa side has secured 92 votes out of 143, while Mohan De Silva could not secure even his own Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) vote.

The election to be held tomorrow at 10 A.M. at the Duncan White Auditorium of the ministry of Sports.

According to reliable sources, after it has become clear in the after today that Mohan De Silva would not be allowed to contest for the presidential post, all the Colombo based clubs have decided to vote for the Dharmadasa side. Shammi Silva, only Candidate from the former president Thilanga Sumathipala side, is that much notorious and controversial figure that majority of clubs have decided to dump him!

Cricket Age learns that all the major clubs SSC, Colts, NCC, BRC, Malace, Moratuva SC, Catermerars, Dimbula, Galle Cricket Club, Kalutara Town, Colupitiya Play Ground, Matara SC, Moors SC, Nigembo CC, Nomeds, Peterson Land Playgrounds, Saresans, Sebastian, Tamil Union and University of Colombo have given mandate in the favour of Dharmadasa Camp.

As Dharmadasa Side has stalwart like Arjuna Ranatunga, Nishantha Ranatunga and K. Mathivanan, the stakeholders have shown their faith in them.

The most surprising news came out from the SSC. Mohan De Silva is the vice president of SSC, even then he could not secure, as the club has decided to give both the votes to Dharmadasa side. According to sources, Nishantha played a major role in securing both the votes of SSC.

As of now, Dharmadasa side has secured more than 70 percent Votes of affliated clubs and more than 55 percent votes of district cricket associations.

It is noteworthy that, Arjuna Ranatunga, the legendary world cup winning captain, is also contesting for the vice president post.

About the author

Abhishek Patil