ICC suspends Dananjaya after bowling action found to be illegal

Written by Vishwas Gupta

The International Cricket Council today announced that an independent assessment has found the bowling action of Sri Lanka’s off-spinner Akila Dananjaya to be illegal and, as such he has been suspended from bowling in international cricket with immediate effect.

The assessment revealed that his deliveries exceeded the 15 degrees level of tolerance permitted under the regulations.

In accordance with Article 11.1 of the ICC Regulations For The Review of Bowlers Reported with Suspect Illegal Bowling Actions, Dananjaya’s international suspension will also be recognised and enforced by all National Cricket Federations for domestic cricket events played in their own jurisdiction.

However, according to Article 11.5 of the Regulations and with the consent of the Sri Lanka Cricket, Dananjaya may be able to bowl in domestic cricket events played under the auspices of the SLC.

Dananjaya’s action was reported during the first Test against England in Galle and he was later sent to Brisbane, where an assessment on his bowling was undertaken.

He bowled 38.5 overs in England’s 211-run win in Galle, taking two for 183, and drew the attention of umpires Chris Gaffaney and Marais Erasmus.

They cited concerns about the legality of the 25-year-old’s bowling action, a report from the International Cricket Council said.

Dananjaya took 10 wickets in the first two matches of the series, which England won 3-0, before being replaced for the third and final Test by Nishan Peiris.

Later, he had undergone an independent assessment of his bowling action on 23 November 2018 at the National Cricket Centre, Brisbane.

Dananjaya can apply for a re-assessment after modifying his bowling action in accordance with clause 4.5 of the Regulations.


About the author

Vishwas Gupta