Sri Lanka recalls Thirimane, Sadeera for New Zealand Tests

Written by N Krishnamurthy

Sri Lanka have recalled discarded Lahiru Thirimane along with Sadeera Samarwikrama for the upcoming test series against New Zealand. Dinesh Chandimal, who missed last two tests against England due to injury, has returned to lead the 17-members squad, while fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep has also been added into the squad.

After disastrous home series against England, where Sri Lanka lost all three trophies, Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) sacked Graeme Labrooy led selection committee and appointed Asantha De Mel as New chairman of selectors.

However, the first impression of Asantha De Mel committee is not that much good.

Lahiru Thirimane, particularly, has been one of the most unsuccessfull chapter in Sri Lanka cricket history. Even though greats like Kumar Sangakkara rates him highly for some mysterious reasons, he has turned out one of the biggest flop in world cricket history. In an era, where Jason Holder and Ravichandran Ashwin  have multiple test hundreds, with a single century in almost ten years, Thirimane proves that he doesn’t belongs to international cricket.

Dickwella retention is also surprising, given the fact that he turned out a colossal disappointment during the England series. He was not only failed miserably with the bat, his over eagerness behind the stumps cost Sri Lanka dearly.

On the bouncy pitches in New Zealand, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Pradeep and Suranga Lakmal will form the core of the bowling attack.

Squad :
Dinesh Chandimal – Captain
Dimuth Karunaratne – Vice Captain
Kusal Mendis
Dhananjaya De Silva
Angelo Mathews
Roshen Silva
Niroshan Dickwella
Danushka Gunathilaka
Lahiru Thirimanne
Sadeera Samarawickrama
Dilruwan Perera
Lakshan Sandakan
Suranga Lakmal
Nuwan Pradeep
Kasun Rajitha
Lahiru Kumara
Dushmantha Chameera

About the author

N Krishnamurthy