Five member committee to be appointed to run the SLC

Written by N Krishnamurthy

Following the Attorney General’s (AG’s) department confirmation on Shammi Silva led administration term expiration, the Sports Ministry secretary has taken a decision to appoint a five member committee to run the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) until the board election on May 20, Cricket Age exclusively learns.

Earlier in the day, Cricket Age had published that the AG’s department has given its verdict against the Shammi Silva led administration, stating that the it’s term was expired on February 20 itself.

“On the advice of Attorney General and consulting Honorable Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa,  Secretary of Sports Ministry has decided to appoint a five member committee to run the day to day affairs at Maitland Place till the election. The committee will be comprising of well reputed people, with cricket knowledge” a top Sports Ministry official told Cricket Age.

The high profile SLC election is scheduled for May 20. However, most likely, the election will be pushed back further as K. Mathivanan Camp is determined to drag the matter to court.

About the author

N Krishnamurthy