Court issues notice to Sri Lanka Cricket on former players, administrators petition

Written by N Krishnamurthy

Hearing on a petition, filled by country’s 12 most prominent former players, administrators, first class players and corporate bigwigs, the Court of Appeal Monday issued a notice to Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) and Sports Ministry, asking them to appear before the Court on 15 March, Cricket Age exclusively learns.

The petition was filled in the best interest of Sri Lanka Cricket, in an attempt to bring Island’s most cherished game back on track. As an official press release will be issued shortly,  Cricket Age can confirm that legendary off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, Sidath Wettimuny, Michael Tissera are among the former greats, who filled the petition along with Skandakumar former Secretary BCCSL, Rienzi Wijetilake former chairman Hatton National Bank and chairman interim committee, Thilan Wijesingha, who played representative cricket and U19 for Sri Lanka and a former BOI chairman. The petition was filed in Court by President’s Counsel Sanjeewa Jayawardena, Counsel Dr. Milhan Mohamad and instructing Attorneys from the Sudath Perera Associates.

“Along with Muralitharan, Sidath Wettimuny anf Michael Tissera, former SLC Presidents Ana Punchihewa, Vijaya Malalasekara and Rienzie Wijetilleke had filed a petition in Appeal Court asking for restructuring of SLC and change of voting structure” a former SLC administrator, who is among the petitioners, told Cricket Age.

It’s yet another blow to SLC after last week COPE committee nightmare! Last week, The parliamentary Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) meeting on SLC was suspended, after board officials had attended the meeting without proper preparation for the audit inquiries.

The COPE Committee was displeased over Sri Lanka Cricket officials attending the meeting unprepared and the Chairman of the Committee Prof. Charitha Herath suspended the meeting informing Sri Lanka Cricket officials to appear before the committee with better preparations within a month, the parliament media unit said.

Officials of Sri Lanka Cricket were summoned to the COPE Committee yesterday to examine the Auditor General’s report for the financial years 2017 and 2018 and its current performance.

COPE Chairman Prof. Charitha Herath said that it was observed that many problems had arisen due to the irregular financial management of Sri Lanka Cricket. The Chairman noted that the dissatisfaction of the people regarding the Sri Lanka Cricket has increased and that it is not something that belongs to only one party but to the country.

The Petitioners

1. Kushil Gunasekera
2. Muttiah Muralitharan
3. Sidath Wettimuny
4. Michael Tissera
5. Hon Justice (Retd) Saleem Marsoof PC
6. Dinal Phillips PC
7. Rienzie Wijetilleke
8. Thilan Wijesinghe
9. Vijaya Malalasekera
10. Ana Punchihewa
11. Somasundaram Skandakumar
12. Dr Palitha Kohona

About the author

N Krishnamurthy