Inside Story

Colts releases Sadeera Samarawickrama, Prabath Jayasuriya and Nisala Tharaka

Written by Sumit Seth

The prestigious Colts Cricket Club has released Sri Lanka national caps Sadeera Samarawickrama and Prabath Jayasuriya along with two other domestic players, Cricket Age reliably learns.

The resignation letters of the players were accepted by the Colts cricket committee on Sunday.

While Sadeera is moving to Tamil Union, Prabath will join Sinhalese Sports Club. Two other youngsters Nisala Tharaka and Hashan Dumindu were released by the Colts and they are tipped to join Negombo and Saracens respectively.

“We have released these players and they are free to join any club after the contract period ends on November 30” a top Colts official told Cricket Age.

Interestingly, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) domestic T20 tournament is starting from October 23. In this scenario, if these players wants to play for their new clubs, they will have to secure the NOC from the Colts.

“The players will not be taken back by the club. Also, without Colt’s NOC, the players won’t be able to participate in the T20 tournament, as per their contracts” the top official added.

Sadeera, a stylish top-order right hand batsman, played in all three formats (4 tests, 7 ODIs and 7 T20Is) for Sri Lanka, while being a part of Colts. Prabath, a left-arm leg spinner, has also appeared in 2 ODIs for his country.

Meanwhile, Priyamal Perera, who was rumored to join BRC, Will remain an integral part of the Colts. A dashing right-handed batsman, Priyamal has already been identified as future prospect for Sri Lanka National Team, having already played 2 ODIs.


About the author

Sumit Seth