Sri Lanka Announces Test Squad For West Indies Tour

Written by Rohit Pawar

Sri Lanka Selectors have announced 17 member squad to take part in the three match test tour to West Indies, which will be held from 26th May to 28th June, 2018. The Minister of Sports Faiszer Musthapa PC gave his approval for the squad.

Allrounder Angelo Mathews participation in the series is still in doubt, as his selection is once again subjected to fitness. After missing Bangladesh tests and Nidhas trophy, Mathews returned to competitive cricket for the ongoing Super Provincial 50 over tournament.

Fast bowlers Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando and Lahiru Gamage have also been included in the squad, while fast bowling spearhead Suranga Lakmal’s selection is subjected to fitness.

Preliminary squad has already started training in Kandy in high performance center from Wednesday. The team will depart for the tour on May 25.

Sri Lanka to play three test against West Indies. The tour will kick off on May 30 with a tour match at Tarouba, while the first test to be played at Port Of Spain From June 6.

Squad :

Dinesh Chandimal – Captain
Mahela Udawatte
Kusal Mendis
Kusal Janith Perera
Dhananjaya de Silva
Roshen Silva
Angelo Mathews – Subject to fitness
Niroshan Dickwella
Rangana Herath
Dilruwan Perera
Akila Dananjaya
Jeffrey Vandersay
Lahiru Gamage
Kasun Rajitha
Suranga Lakmal – Subject to fitness
Lahiru Kumara
Asitha Fernando

About the author

Rohit Pawar

An Independent I.T. Security Expert, Geek, Blogger & Passionate Programmer.

Leave a Comment