Border-Gavaskar Trophy Officially Extended to Five Tests, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah Confirms

Written by Toshi Pawar

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia has now officially become a five-Test affair. India are set to tour Australia later this year for a Test series which will have five matches for the first time since 1991-92.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah confirmed the development adding the step is in line with the board’s commitment to preserve the future of Test cricket.

“The BCCI remains steadfast in its dedication to preserving the rich heritage of Test Cricket, a format we hold in the highest esteem,” Shah said.

“Our ongoing collaboration with Cricket Australia in extending the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to five Tests underscores our collective commitment to nurturing and elevating Test cricket’s significance,” he added.

Cricket Australia chair Mike Baird said the extension reflects the shared vision of the two boards.

“This extension echoes our shared vision to amplify the essence of Test cricket and uphold its legacy. As India and Australia, come together, we anticipate an enthralling spectacle that will captivate fans worldwide with its intensity and excitement,” Baird said.

About the author

Toshi Pawar

Girl who loves blogging, fashion, photography. Digital Strategist for @CricketAge and SEO, Social Media Expert at Mr.HiTech.