Australia name unchanged squad for David Warner’s farewell Test

Written by Rohit Pawar

David Warner is set to enjoy his dream Test farewell as Australia named an unchanged squad of 13 for the third and final Test against Pakistan at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Warner has had this Test circled on his calendar for several months now as his final match in the famous baggy green in front of a home crowd and it is a wish he will receive.

The New Year’s Test will bring the curtain down on a remarkable career in the red ball format for one of Australia’s finest openers and Warner will no doubt hope to avoid similar scores to that of the Boxing Day Test.

Chair of Selectors George Bailey was looking forward to toasting Warner and hoped Australia would complete the trifecta of victories in the series against Pakistan.

“The NSP have retained the same squad from Melbourne to Sydney as we look to clean sweep the Test series,” Bailey said.

“We look forward to celebrating David Warner’s final Test match and his incredible career at his home ground.”

Although the Test series has been wrapped up thanks to the victory in Melbourne, the Aussies also opted to stick with the same bowling attack with cult hero Scott Boland once again on standby.

The New Year’s Test at the SCG gets underway on January 3.

AUSTRALIA SQUAD FOR THIRD TEST: Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner

About the author

Rohit Pawar

An Independent I.T. Security Expert, Geek, Blogger & Passionate Programmer.