1st Time In International Cricket! Angelo Mathews ‘Timed Out’

Written by Toshi Pawar

In a major moment at the Cricket World Cup 2023, Sri Lanka star Angelo Mathews was ruled ‘timed out’ during his team’s crucial clash against Bangladesh in Delhi on Monday.

The incident happened on the second ball of the 25th over, bowled by Bangladesh captain Shakib al Hasan. Sadeera Samarawickrama had just been dismissed and Angelo Mathews arrived at the crease at the fall of the fourth wicket. But soon there was confusion as Mathews realised that he had brought the wrong helmet and pleaded his case with the Bangladesh players and the umpires. Angelo Mathews is the first player in the history of international cricket to be ruled timed out. Before this, six cricketers were ruled timed out in first-class cricket. India’s Hemulal Yadav is part of that list of batters who had been rules timed out.

The visuals showed that he was indicating that the helmet strap had come off. The damage had, however, been done by then. The substitute player of the Sri Lanka team did run with the correct helmet. But by then, Bangladesh had already appealed for a ‘timed out’. Angelo Mathews, quite animatedly, pleaded with the umpires and Shakib al Hasan but the appeal was not withdrawn. Angelo Mathews was absolutely livid after the dismissal and threw away his helmet in frustration right after going out of the field of play.

About the author

Toshi Pawar

Girl who loves blogging, fashion, photography. Digital Strategist for @CricketAge and SEO, Social Media Expert at Mr.HiTech.