Shammi Silva re-elected as Sri Lanka Cricket President

Written by N Krishnamurthy

Shammi Silva was elected Sri Lanka Cricket president again, after he and the majority of the previous set of office bearers were voted in uncontested at an Annual General Meeting (AGM) held at Maitland Place today, Cricket Age exclusively learns. They will hold these positions for two years.

Silva’s faction, which includes vice-presidents Ravin Wickramaratne and Jayantha Dharmadasa, and secretary Mohan de Silva, did not face any challenges in this election, due to the absence of an opposing faction.

The re-election of Silva and his committee also means that initiatives they had begun in their previous tenures – such as the Lanka Premier League – will likely to continue through this next tenure. Silva was first elected president in 2019, and had been vice-president before that.

Elected Office Bearers:

Mr. Shammi SilvaPresident
Dr. Jayantha DharmadasaVice President
Mr. Ravin WickramaratneVice President
Mr. Mohan De SilvaHonorary Secretary
Mr. Chryshantha KapuwatteAssistant Secretary
Mr. Sujeeva GodaliyaddaTreasurer

About the author

N Krishnamurthy