Chetan Sharma To Continue As Chairman Of BCCI Selection Committee, New Panel Named

Written by Vipin Darwade

Former India cricketer Chetan Sharma, who was the head of the BCCI selection committee for the men’s cricket team from December 2020 till late last year, will continue as the chief selector, according to a BCCI statement on Saturday. Other selectors in panel are Sridharan Sharath from South Zone, Shiv Sundar Das from Central Zone, Subroto Banerjee from East and Salil Ankola from West Zone. 

“The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) comprising Ms Sulakshana Naik, Mr Ashok Malhotra, and Mr Jatin Paranjape undertook an extensive process for selecting members of the All-India Senior Selection Committee. The Board received around 600 applications following its advertisement for the five posts issued on its official website on 18th November 2022,” the BCCI statement said.

“Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews. Based on the interviews, the Committee has recommended the following candidates for the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee. 1) Chetan Sharma 2) Shiv Sundar Das 3) Subroto Banerjee 4) Salil Ankola 5) Sridharan Sharath.

“The committee further recommended Mr Chetan Sharma for the role of Chairman of the senior men’s selection committee.”

About the author

Vipin Darwade