Sri Lanka Cricket to Evaluate Coach Micky Arthur tenure

Written by N Krishnamurthy

Following an inspiring T20 World Cup Campaign, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has decided to evaluate national team’s head coach Micky Arthur’s tenure before taking any further decision on his future, Cricket Age exclusively learns.

The 2014 champions came through the qualifiers and lost three of their five Super 12 stage games to see their semi-final hopes evaporate. The young team under Dasun Shanaka, did not go without a fight, however, especially against unbeaten Group I leaders England, and second-placed South Africa. Young guns performance, in particular, won many hearts. Four of their batsmen made half-centuries with 23-year-old opener Pathum Nissanka grabbing two fifties. Wanindu Hasaranga, the team’s 24-year-old leg spinner, was one of the tournament’s revelations with 14 wickets at a staggering average of just under 10.

Arthur’s performance, however, remained lackluster! Though, he is desperately trying to take credit for some eye catching individual performances, the reality is that prior to the start of this World Cup, Sri Lanka had won just seven of their last 30 completed T20Is, dating back to the start of 2019 – three of which came in a single series against Pakistan.

Arthur, who previously coached South Africa, Australia and Pakistan, was appointed as head coach of Sri Lankain December 2019. Now, as his two year tenure is about to expire, the SLC seems undecided on extending his contract.

“Before taking any further decision, we need to evaluate his tenure. The evaluation will take place under Technical Advisory Committee and Mr. Mahela Jayawardene supervision. Once, we gets the report, we will take a call” a top SLC official told Cricket Age.

If Sri Lanka opts to let Arthur go, batting coach Grant Flower and fielding coach Shane McDermott will also be replaced.

“In the scenario, we ends our association with Micky, it’s obvious that remaining coaching staff will also be changed” top SLC official added.

Mahela heads country’s National Sports Council, while Technical Advisory Committee is headed by legendary Aravinda de Silva. Former greats Roshan Mahanama, Kumar Sangakkara and Muttiah Muralidharan also sits in the committee.


About the author

N Krishnamurthy