Prithvi Shaw crosses 800-run mark in a single season of Vijay Hazare Trophy

Written by Rohit Pawar

Mumbai captain Prithvi Shaw continued with his red hot form on Sunday as he became the first player to breach the 800-run mark in a single edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Shaw achieved the feat during his 73-run knock against Uttar Pradesh in the ongoing final of Vijay Hazare Trophy at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

Uttar Pradesh rode on Madhav Kaushik’s unbeaten hundred to set a competitive target of 313 runs for Mumbai and if Shaw’s team manages to chase this down, the side will win their fourth Vijay Hazare title. Kaushik and Akshdeep Nath came up with heroic knocks of 158 and 55 respectively as Uttar Pradesh registered 312/4 in the fifty overs. Kaushik’s unbeaten 158-run knock is the highest individual score of any batsman in the finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Shaw, 21, has had a fantastic run with the bat with three centuries and a double century, in a great domestic comeback after being axed from the India Test squad. Last week, Shaw broke Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli’s record of the highest individual score by an Indian batsman in a List A chase. Prithvi achieved the feat when he hammered an unbeaten 185 off 123 balls against Saurashtra on Tuesday.

Earlier, Karnataka opener Devdutt Padikkal became the second batsman after Prithvi Shaw to break Mayank Agarwal’s record of scoring most runs in a single Vijay Hazare Trophy edition. Padikkal amassed 737 runs to break Agarwal’s record of 723 runs in the 2017-18 edition.

About the author

Rohit Pawar

An Independent I.T. Security Expert, Geek, Blogger & Passionate Programmer.