Colts, Bloomfield Files Objections Against Shammi Silva Camp Candidates

Written by Sumit Seth

The prestigious Colts Cricket Club, along with Bloomfield, has filed the objections against Shammi Silva Camp Candidates in the forthcoming Sri Lanka cricket election, Cricket Age reliably learns. The objections have been submitted before the Election Committee of Sri Lanka cricket.

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) to choose office bearers for next two years to run the cricket in the Island will take place on May 20.

While Shammi Silva Camp has fielded almost the same team for the battle of the Maitland Place, Colts stalwarts Nishantha Ranatunga and K. Mathivanan have teamed up to form the opposition, along with former Sri Lanka captain Bandula Warnapura.

Cricket Age understands that except for Samantha Dodenwela (who has given his nomination for vice president post), the two clubs have filed the objections against everyone – Shammi Silva (president), Ravin Wickramaratne (vice president, domestic cricket), Jayantha Dharmadasa (vice president, International cricket), Mohan De Silva (Secretary), Lasantha Wickramasinghe (Treasurer), Crysantha Kapuwatha (Assistant Secretary) and Sujeewa Godaliyadda (assistant treasurer).

“We have submitted 4-5 objections against everyone, on various grounds” an insider at Colts told Cricket Age.

In addition, questions have been raised over SLC’s 24th February Executive Committee (ExCo) meeting validity also.

“As per the board constitution, Mr. Shammi Silva administration’s term was expired on 20th February itself. So, obviously, the ExCo meeting after that was invalid” the Colts insider added.

Interestingly, In this scenario, the appointment of Tom Moody as cricket director of Sri Lanka (on the recommendation of former players Kumar Sangakkara and Muttiah Muralitharan) also becomes invalid, as it was also passed during the 24th February ExCo.


About the author

Sumit Seth