Provincial Selectors term according to Sports Law – SLC

Written by N Krishnamurthy

The ‘Provincial Selectors’ term has been used according to country’s Sports Law, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) clarified to Cricket Age.

On January 5, Cricket Age had published that stalwarts of Sri Lanka junior cricket circuit Gamini Wickramasinghe, Ranjan Paranavithana and Nilantha Rathnayake have been Appointed as Sri Lanka’s Provincial Selectors for the next one year. Gajaba Pitigala, A. S. Nishanthan, K. H. Nandsena, Viraj Chaminda De Silva and Shane Fernando are other inclusions in the 8-member committee.

“The 8 member sub-committee, which we have appointed for the junior cricket, will be called Provincial Selection committee. As per country’s Sports Law there must be only one selection committee for any Sports body.” a top SLC official told Cricket Age.

“No, those provincial coordinators won’t be removed, as they have been appointed by the respective Provinces. The provincial selectors will be coordinating with the provincial coordinators and will give their recommendations to Asantha De Mel led national selection panel for picking the junior squads” the top official cleared the air.

After Cricket Age published Provincial selectors names, there were many inquiries over the absence of former Sri Lanka all-rounder Farveez Maharoof in the committee. When asked, SLC made it clear that he won’t be considered for the U19 manager post either.

“He is associated with Kandy Tuskers as team manager in the Lanka Premier League (LPL). So, he won’t be considered for U19 manager post, as it would be conflict of interest then” the top SLC official added.




About the author

N Krishnamurthy