Shikhar Dhawan becomes four-highest run-scorer in IPL

Written by Vipin Darwade

Delhi Capitals’ (DC) opener Shikhar Dhawan returned to form in the all-important second Qualifier of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 and scored vital 78 off just 50 balls to surpass Rohit Sharma in the list of highest run-getters in IPL history. Dhawan was 58 runs short of his white-ball opening partner and went on to take a lead of 20 runs by the end of the day.

Dhawan, who also represented Mumbai Indians during his early years in IPL, now has 5182 runs in 175 matches across 13 seasons. The only batsman to score two back-to-back centuries in IPL, Dhawan has also scored 41 half-centuries. He was a member of Sunrisers Hyderabad’s IPL-winning team in 2016.

The list of highest run-getters is topped by Virat Kohli, who has 5878 runs in 192 matches. The Royal Challengers Bangalore captain scored 466 runs in IPL 2020. He is followed by Suresh Raina, who has 5368 runs in 193 matches. Raina skipped IPL 2020 due to personal reasons.

David Warner, Dhawan”s former captain, comes next on the list. The most consistent opener in the history of IPL, Warner has 5254 runs in 142 matches.

Courtesy Dhawan’s batting, all-round show from Marcus Stoinis and Kagiso Rabada’s match-winning spell, DC have made it to the final for the first time. They will be up against defending champions Mumbai Indians, who had defeated them in the first Qualifier. The final takes place on November 10.

About the author

Vipin Darwade