Suresh Raina returns for South Africa T20 Series

Written by Vipin Darwade

Middle order batsman Suresh Raina has made a return to team india, as selectors have included hin into 16-man squad for T20I series against South Africa.

He was rewarded for his recent domestic performance with a recall to the India’s T20I squad for the three-match series against South Africa, starting February 18. Raina has also overcome fitness issues to make the 16-man squad. The southpaw had played his last international, a T20 against England, in February 2017 before being sidelined with fitness issues. Passing the mandatory ‘Yo Yo’ test also paved the way for the Uttar Pradesh batsman’s return.

He was also in top-form in the recently-concluded Super League of Syed Mushtaq Ali, smashing an unbeaten hundred and a couple of half centuries for Uttar Pradesh. Familiar faces like Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shikhar Dhawan were back in the side after being rested for the last T20 series against Sri Lanka.

The three-match T20 series in South Africa begins on February 18 in Johannesburg, followed by matches in Centurion (February 21) and Cape Town (February 24).

Squad : 

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel , Yazuvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah , Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur.

About the author

Vipin Darwade

Leave a Comment