Sri Lanka ODI squad announced : Kusal Perera, Asela, Dhananjaya returns

Written by Rohit Pawar

Allrounder Asela Gunaratne, dashing left-hander Kusal Perera and Dhananjaya De Silva have all been included in the 16 men Sri Lanka ODI squad for the three match series against India, Sri Lanka Cricket Board announced on Tuesday.

Asela, the most consistent performer performer for Sri Lanka in last two years in the all formats of the game, hasn’t played since August, when he sustained hand injury during the first test against India.

Kusal Perera hasn’t played for Sri Lanka since the Champions trophy, when he picked a hamstring injury during the match against India.
Though, he fully recovered from the injury, and recently returned to competitive cricket. He even participated in the Bangladesh premier league (BPL) for the Rangpur Riders.

Selectors have also recalled young batsman Dhananjaya De Silva, after his impressive form against West Indies A in the recently concluded Series.

Left handed opener Danushka Gunathilika has also been added, after he missed Pakistan ODI series, due to disciplinary action.

From the last ODI series that Sri Lanka played against Pakistan in UAE, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamara Kapugedera and Milinda Siriwardena have been dropped.

Chandimal, Sri Lanka test captain, has been in sparkling form against India in the ongoing test series, where he has made two half centuries and one scintillating hundred so far.

Sri Lanka team to play three ODIs and as many as T20I against India. The three match ODI series will be starting on 10th December.

Squad :

Upul Tharanga

Dhanushka Gunathilaka

Lahiru Thirimanne

Angelo Mathews

Asela Gunaratne

Niroshan Dickwella

Thisara Perera (Capt.)

Chathuranga De Silva

Akila Dhananjaya

Suranga Lakmal

Nuwan Pradeep

Sadheera Samarawickrema

Dhananjaya De Silva

Dushmantha Chameera

Sachith Pathirana

Kushal Janith Perera

About the author

Rohit Pawar

An Independent I.T. Security Expert, Geek, Blogger & Passionate Programmer.

Leave a Comment